West Palm Beach Criminal Defense Lawyer
Contact Us Now
Marijuana Crimes Skilled, Strategic, & Dedicated

West Palm Beach Marijuana Crimes Attorney

Get Award-Winning Defense on Your Side

At the Law Offices of Greg Rosenfeld, P.A., our West Palm Beach drug crime lawyer understands the ins and outs of Florida’s drug laws. We can use this knowledge and our finely-tuned skills to help you figure out your next move in your marijuana crime matter. If you are facing charges, we can investigate the circumstances of your case and advocate for your rights to protect your freedom.

In recent years, attitudes toward marijuana have begun shifting, resulting in legislation changes concerning the substance. Florida drug laws have recently been revised, changing the way conduct involving the sale, possession, and growth of marijuana is prosecuted. For example, Florida voters passed Amendment 2, which allows the possession and use of cannabis for medical purposes. Having laws constantly changing, it can be difficult to determine what is right and wrong. This can make it frustrating if you are currently facing marijuana charges.

At the Law Offices of Greg Rosenfeld, P.A., we can provide the answers and guidance you need for your case. Call us at (561) 902-1122 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation.

Florida’s Medical Marijuana Laws

In Florida, while recreational use of marijuana is illegal, purchasing or possessing the substances for medical use is allowed. Strict laws are in place to regulate the acquisition, use, delivery, and administering of cannabis for this purpose. For example, a person must receive a physician certification to obtain medical marijuana, and he or she can only purchase cannabis from state-licensed dispensaries.

To be eligible for a medical marijuana card, the individual must have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition, such as:

  • Cancer
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV
  • AIDS
  • PTSD
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Multiple sclerosis

Additionally, a person using cannabis for medical purposes is restricted on where it can be used.

For instance, he or she cannot administer the substance:

  • On public transportation
  • In a public place
  • At the individual’s workplace (unless permitted)
  • In a jail, prison, or other correctional facility
  • On school property
  • In a school bus
  • In a vehicle, aircraft, or motorboat

Marijuana Laws in Florida

If a person does not have a physician’s approval to use cannabis, he or she could face criminal charges. Florida has several laws concerning conduct involving marijuana, and significant penalties can be imposed upon anyone convicted of an offense.

Possession of Marijuana

The level of charge and punishments assessed for possessing marijuana depend on the amount of the substance.

A person who is in actual or constructive possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana may be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor. Conviction penalties include:

  • Up to 1 year in jail,
  • Up to 1 year of probation, and/or
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

If the person possessed 20 grams or more of cannabis, he or she would face a third-degree felony charge. Punishments include:

  • Up to 5 years in prison,
  • Up to 5 years of probation, and/or
  • Up to $5,000 in fines

Sale or Delivery of Marijuana

Delivering, without consideration, less than 20 grams of marijuana is a first-degree misdemeanor. The offense is penalized by:

  • Up to 1 year in jail,
  • Up to 1 year of probation, and/or
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

Selling or delivering marijuana is a third-degree felony. It’s punishable by:

  • Up to 5 years in prison,
  • Up to 5 years of probation, and/or
  • Up to $5,000 in fines

Trafficking in Marijuana

Selling, purchasing, manufacturing, delivering, or bringing into the state more than 25 pounds of marijuana (referred to as trafficking in cannabis) is a first-degree felony. A conviction results in a prison term up 30 years, probation for up to 30 years, and/or a fine of up to $10,000.

A court must impose mandatory minimum sentences and fines depending on the amount of marijuana:

  • More than 25 pounds but less than 2,000 pounds: 3-year minimum prison term and a $25,000 fine
  • 2,000 pounds or more but less than 10,000 pounds: 7-year minimum prison term and a $50,000 fine
  • 10,000 pounds or more: 15-year minimum prison term and a $200,000 fine

Driver’s License Suspension

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will impose a mandatory six-month driver’s license suspension if a person is convicted of misdemeanor or felony possession or sale of marijuana.

Choose the Law Offices of Greg Rosenfeld, P.A.

If you have been accused of a marijuana drug crime, our firm can help. Attorney Rosenfeld can utilize his legal knowledge and experience to work toward a favorable result, such as a reduced charge or even a dismissal, if possible.

Contact the Law Offices of Greg Rosenfeld, P.A. at (561) 902-1122 to speak with our West Palm Beach marijuana crime lawyer today.

Distinguished by Our Accolades

Take a Look at Some Accomplishments
  • The National Trial Lawyers: Top 40 Under 40
  • Past President of the Palm Beach Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5.0 rating on Martindale-Hubbell
  • Avvo 10.0 Superb Rating for Criminal Defense & Clients' Choice Award 2016 - 2019
  • Selected for Super Lawyers Rising Stars 2016 Through 2021
  • 10 Best for Client Satisfaction by the AICLA
Meet Your Advocate

Attorney Greg Rosenfeld

Get the Advocacy You Deserve

Request a Free Consultation

Call 561-902-1122 or Submit This Form

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.