West Palm Beach Leaving the Scene of an Accident Lawyer
Call (561) 902-1122 to Let Attorney Greg Rosenfeld Fight for You
Being involved in an accident can be a frightening and confusing experience. Even when you are supposed to stop and exchange information with the other driver involved, sometimes anxiety and fear can make you do things you would not normally do. However, you can still take steps to avoid being charged with a criminal offense for making a mistake.
At the Law Offices of Greg Rosenfeld, P.A., we are committed to protecting your rights and freedom when facing hit-and-run charges in West Palm Beach, FL. Attorney Greg Rosenfeld has the trial-tested experience to help either get your charges reduced or your case dismissed altogether.
Florida Hit-and-Run Laws & Penalties
In the event of a car accident in Florida, you are required to stop, provide your contact information and driver’s license number, and help an injured person obtain immediate medical care. If the injured driver is not in a condition to obtain your contact information, you must immediately report the accident to the police and provide your contact information.
The following are the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in Florida:
- If property damage was involved – A second-degree misdemeanor, which carries a jail term of up to 60 days, a probation period of up to six months, and a fine of up to $500.
- If an injury was involved – A third-degree felony (level 5 offense), punishable by up to five years in prison, up to five years of probation, a maximum fine of $5,000, and driver’s license revocation for a minimum of three years.
- If a serious injury was involved – A second-degree felony (level 6 offense), which carries a prison sentence of up to 15 years, a probation sentence of up to 15 years, a fine not exceeding $10,000, and driver’s license revocation for at least three years.
- If a death was involved – A first-degree felony (level 7 offense), punishable by imprisonment for up to 30 years, probation for up to 30 years, a maximum fine of $10,000, and driver’s license revocation for at least three years.
Request a Free Case Review Today
Rather than being sent to jail or prison, Attorney Rosenfeld will fight tirelessly to defend your rights and liberty. He can review your case, determine your legal options, and help you get your life back on the right track.
For more information about our legal services, contact us today.
The National Trial Lawyers: Top 40 Under 40
Past President of the Palm Beach Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
AV Preeminent 5.0 out of 5.0 rating on Martindale-Hubbell
Avvo 10.0 Superb Rating for Criminal Defense & Clients' Choice Award 2016 - 2019
Selected for Super Lawyers Rising Stars 2016 Through 2021
10 Best for Client Satisfaction by the AICLA